Books by Chris Orcutt

Powered by Your Friends at BookGorilla

Twitter: @chrisorcutt

CHRIS ORCUTT has written professionally for over 20 years as a fiction writer, journalist, scriptwriter, playwright, technical writer and speechwriter. He has also taught high school U.S. history and college writing. At Baruch College, City University of New York, Chris received the Distinguished Teaching Award, and as a newspaper reporter he received a New York Press Association award.

Chris is the author of the critically acclaimed Dakota Stevens Mystery Series. The first novel in the series, A REAL PIECE OF WORK, achieved a #1 top-rated ranking in Literary Fiction for Kindle, and #4 in Mystery. IndieReader writes of the novel, "Action, lust, danger, style and witty repartee, Orcutt's A Real Piece of Work is a work of art." The novel received similarly strong critical acclaim from other reviewers, as did the sequel, THE RICH ARE DIFFERENT. The third installment in the series, A TRUTH STRANGER THAN FICTION, debuts on January 1, 2015.

Although Chris is very proud to have created the Dakota Stevens novels, he considers himself first and foremost a general practitioner in fiction writing, and has written a great deal of non-genre fiction. He has had well over two dozen short stories published in literary journals, and his short fiction has won a few modest awards, most notably 55 Fiction's World's Shortest Stories. Chris's short story collection, THE MAN, THE MYTH, THE LEGEND, was selected by IndieReader as one of the Best Books of 2013.

In April 2014, ONE HUNDRED MILES FROM MANHATTAN, a modern pastoral novel in the tradition of Jane Austen and Thomas Hardy, was published. The novel tells the story of Wellington, a fictional wealthy community in Upstate New York, where the village and the surrounding hills conceal tales of love, lust, tragedy and small wars. The novel is ten chapters in length, and each chapter is from a different character's point of view. These characters include a trophy wife, a medical doctor, a single mother, a contrac

Please enter your email address and click the Follow button to follow Chris Orcutt!
A Real Piece of Work (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries)
by Chris Orcutt
Introducing...Dakota Stevens, a modern New York private eye with the wit and grit of Spenser, the eloquence of Marlowe, and the sleuthing skills of Sherlock Holmes. And meet his gorgeous and formidable "Watson"--brilliant chess grandmaster Svetlana Krüsh. A Real Piece of Work , the 1st novel in the Dakota Stevens Mystery Series...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
One Hundred Miles from Manhattan
by Chris Orcutt
One Hundred Miles from Manhattan is a novel about an upscale rural community (Wellington, NY), where the hills and the seemingly quaint village conceal lives of love, lust, adultery, tragedy and small wars. Selected by IndieReader as a Best Book of 2014! Unlike other novels in the pastoral tradition, which tell the story of a...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: All Contemporary Fiction & Literature; All Romance
The Rich Are Different (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries Book 2)
by Chris Orcutt
Dakota Stevens, the tough, wisecracking New York private eye, returns with his sexy and brilliant associate Svetlana Krüsh in a case that takes them both into the Old West... The Rich Are Different , the 2nd novel in the Dakota Stevens Mystery Series, enters the rarefied world of a Long Island heiress and her murdered brother who...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
The Man, The Myth, The Legend
by Chris Orcutt
Chris Orcutt has riveted and delighted readers with his critically acclaimed Dakota Stevens Mystery Series; in a 5-star review of the first novel, IndieReader said, “Action, lust, danger, style and witty repartee, Orcutt's A Real Piece of Work is a work of art.” Now in his new short story collection, THE MAN, THE MYTH, THE LEGEND...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: Unknown
A Truth Stranger Than Fiction (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries Book 3)
by Chris Orcutt
He's BACK. Dakota Stevens. The tough, wisecracking New York private eye. And so is his "Watson": brilliant chess grandmaster Svetlana Krüsh. With her dry wit. Her runway legs. Her predator eyes. A Truth Stranger Than Fiction , the 3rd novel in the critically acclaimed Dakota Stevens Mystery Series, delves into the bizarre...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
The Perfect Triple Threat (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries Book 4)
by Chris Orcutt
Before they took down global conspiracies... See tough, wisecracking New York PI Dakota Stevens and his brilliant associate Svetlana Krüsh in three of their early cases. The Perfect Triple Threat , the 4th installment in the critically acclaimed Dakota Stevens Mystery Series , features three novella-length mysteries that occur...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
The Ronald And Other Plays
by Chris Orcutt
THE RONALD AND OTHER PLAYS features a full-length political satire and five one-acts. THE RONALD: “Fabulously Caucasian” billionaire The Ronald decides to run for President of the Incorporated States of Freedomland. Aiding him in his quest are his sexy genius daughter, his accountant, a conservative professor, a Broadway producer...
Today's Bargain Price: $2.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Humor
Join our thousands of happy subscribers. It's free!
Get Deep Discounts on
Premium Bestsellers,
Plus Free Books for
Your Kindle!
Enter Your Email Address:
BookGorilla sends you a single daily email alert with the best deals
on books that match your reading preferences, including bestsellers
and freebies! Learn More

All prices are for US customers of the Amazon.com Kindle store and were verified by BookGorilla at 9 am EDT, but prices may change without notice so please verify that the book is still free or bargain priced before confirming your order.