Books by Charles Alverson

Powered by Your Friends at BookGorilla

Charles Alverson's writing career has spanned over five decades. Originally from Los Angeles, Alverson served as an Army Paratrooper before receiving his M.A. in Journalism from Columbia University. He has written for numerous publications, including The Wall Street Journal, Rolling Stone, and HELP! Magazine. Alverson has written ten novels, two children's books, and helped co-write the screenplays for Terry Gilliam's cult films Jabberwocky and Brazil.

Alverson currently lives in Serbia, where he has resided with his wife since 1994.

Please enter your email address and click the Follow button to follow Charles Alverson!
Caleb
by Charles Alverson
“You don’t want to buy me. I’ll kill the man who buys me.” Despite that outrageous threat, plantation owner Boyd Jardine buys Caleb and puts him to work in the fields. But soon Jardine discovers that his new slave is both better educated and more widely traveled than himself. When Jardine’s pregnant wife dies and Caleb saves...
Today's Price: $3.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Historical Fiction
Goodey's Last Stand: A Hard Boiled Mystery (Joe Goodey Mysteries Book 1)
by Charles Alverson
Hailed as “...the next best thing to finding a new and unsuspected Raymond Chandler phantasmagoria” ( The New Yorker ), this hard boiled case might just be Joe Goodey’s last. After the San Francisco PD dismisses Joe Goodey from the force and runs him out of town for shooting the mayor’s cousin, the ex-detective's career...
Today's Price: $4.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
The Word: A Novel
by Charles Alverson
Praised as "an intriguing premise with surprising results” (Terry Jones, co-creator of Monty Python ), and "a beguiling cocktail of influences, including Raymond Chandler, Damon Runyon, Nathaniel West and Paulo Coelho" (Christopher Roper), The Word is a moving, witty novel unlike any other. When lifetime petty criminal Joe...
Today's Price: $4.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Not Sleeping, Just Dead: A Hard Boiled Mystery (Joe Goodey Mysteries Book 2)
by Charles Alverson
The sequel to the novel hailed as “...the next best thing to finding a new and unsuspected Raymond Chandler phantasmagoria” ( The New Yorker ), this hard boiled mystery for fans of John D. MacDonald, Robert Parker and Elmore Leonard might put Joe Goodey to sleep - permanently. She was rich, young and pretty—so why did Katie...
Today's Price: $4.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Mad Dog Brewster
by Charles Alverson
Freshman Malcolm Brewster just wants to be something more than invisible at his new high school. He gets his wish when, upon saving a girl from being harassed in the stairwell, he inadvertently injures the star of the basketball team with a fire axe. Word of the "vicious attack" spreads through the high-school like wild-fire - and, by...
Today's Price: $3.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Teen Lit
Apache Dreaming
by Charles Alverson
When Josh Nordland moves to a new high school, he only wants to think about three things: girls, blues and football. But when he saves scrawny Billy Cotton from a teammate's beating in the school parking lot, Josh quickly finds himself a social outcast. With no one else to hang out with, Josh begins to bond with Billy, who has a strange...
Today's Price: $3.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Teen Lit
Imagine Me: A Novel
by Charles Alverson
A razor-witted satire of Hollywood and the American Dream. Broke, silver-tongued producer Jake Borden wants to make it big in Hollywood. Unfortunately, his business, luxury car and other luxuries purchased with borrowed cash are about to be taken away—until he meets a talented young actress suffering from life-threatening anorexia....
Today's Price: $4.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Humor; Literary Fiction
The Coming of Age Box (Apache Dreaming, Hooligans & Mad Dog Brewster): Three Young Adult Novels
by Charles Alverson
Three funny, heartfelt coming of age novels for less than the price of two. Apache Dreaming - When Josh Nordland moves to a new high school, he only wants to think about three things: girls, blues and football. But when he saves scrawny Billy Cotton from a teammate's beating in the school parking lot, Josh quickly finds himself a...
Today's Price: $6.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Teen Lit
The Triple Shot Box (Goodey's Last Stand, Not Sleeping Just Dead & Fighting Back): Three Gritty Crime Novels
by Charles Alverson
This special box set includes three gritty crime novels from Charles Alverson: Goodey's Last Stand, Not Sleeping Just Dead and Fighting Back. For fans of John D. MacDonald, Raymond Chandler, Mickey Spillane, Robert Parker and Elmore Leonard. Goodey's Last Stand (Joe Goodey #1) - Hailed as “...the next best thing to finding a new...
Today's Price: $8.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Fighting Back: A Novel
by Charles Alverson
When Harry Castor opens a bar to support his family, no sooner do the doors open than local gangster Charlie Rizzo waltzes right through them, demanding a cut of the action. With his entire life's savings invested in the bar, Harry Castor can’t afford to pay Rizzo protection. But Harry can’t afford not to, either. Out of options...
Today's Price: $4.99
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Hooligans
by Charles Alverson
It's the summer of 1953, and the months before Christopher McClaren is set to go to Stanford are shaping up to be pretty boring. With his mother away in Europe and his brother fighting in Korea, Christopher passes his summer days working at his uncle’s beverage distributor—until a group of classmates from the other side of town steal...
Today's Price: $3.99
Or FREE with
Categories: Unknown
Join our thousands of happy subscribers. It's free!
Get Deep Discounts on
Premium Bestsellers,
Plus Free Books for
Your Kindle!
Enter Your Email Address:
BookGorilla sends you a single daily email alert with the best deals
on books that match your reading preferences, including bestsellers
and freebies! Learn More

All prices are for US customers of the Amazon.com Kindle store and were verified by BookGorilla at 9 am EDT, but prices may change without notice so please verify that the book is still free or bargain priced before confirming your order.