Books by Alyssa Maxwell

Powered by Your Friends at BookGorilla

Twitter: @alyssa__maxwell

I’ve been writing since the mid-1990s and just to keep readers on their toes, I like to change identities every few years. I was first published in historical romance under a different name in 2004, and moved on to yet another persona in 2008 writing paranormal historical romance. Finally, admitting to being a closet mystery writer all along, I took the plunge by creating my Gilded Newport Mysteries. Thoroughly confused? Sometimes I am, too. But I’m never confused about loving historical themes and the city of Newport, RI, as well as all things British – which led to my other series, A Lady and Lady’s Maid Mysteries. I live in Florida where hubby and I enjoy bike riding, shopping the farmers’ markets, hiking through nature parks, and dreaming about our next vacation – to either Newport or England. To avoid further any confusion, you can learn more about me at http://alyssamaxell.com.

Please click the Follow button to see books by Alyssa Maxwell
more frequently in your BookGorilla daily alerts!
Murder at the Breakers (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 1)
Murder at the Breakers (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 1)
by Alyssa Maxwell
In a historical mystery for Downton Abbey fans, a society reporter covers a killer party in Gilded Age Newport. Newport, Rhode Island, August 1895: She may be a less well-heeled relation, but as second cousin to millionaire patriarch Cornelius Vanderbilt, twenty-one-year-old Emma Cross is on the guest list for a grand ball at the...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Murder at Marble House (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 2)
Murder at Marble House (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 2)
by Alyssa Maxwell
“Delightful...Fans of Victoria Thompson or Deanna Raybourn are sure to enjoy dipping into this historical series.”—Library Journal   With the dawn of the twentieth century on the horizon, the fortunes of the venerable Vanderbilt family still shine brightly in the glittering high society of Newport, Rhode Island. But when a potential...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Murder at Ochre Court (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 6)
Murder at Ochre Court (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 6)
by Alyssa Maxwell
In the summer of 1898, reporter Emma Cross investigates a shocking death among the bright lights of Newport's high society . . . After a disappointing year as a society columnist for the Herald and staying with her more well-heeled Vanderbilt relatives in New York City, Emma has returned to the salty air, glittering ocean vistas, and...
Today's Bargain Price: $6.34
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
A Murderous Marriage (A Lady and Lady's Maid Mystery Book 4)
A Murderous Marriage (A Lady and Lady's Maid Mystery Book 4)
by Alyssa Maxwell
A raucous wedding reception turns sober when the wealthy groom is murdered in this historical mystery set in post-WWI England. Since the Great War, the Renshaw family fortune has suffered, and Lady Julia Renshaw is under pressure to marry for money. She has settled on Gilbert Townsend, a much older viscount and wealthy industrialist....
Today's Bargain Price: $2.99
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Murder at Crossways (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 7)
Murder at Crossways (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 7)
by Alyssa Maxwell
In late August 1898, reporter Emma Cross attends the final fête of the Newport social season and discovers the party's over for a visiting prince . . .  The approaching end of summer means it's time for the Harvest Festival, the last big event of the season, held by Mamie Fish, wife of millionaire tycoon Stuyvesant Fish, at their grand...
Today's Bargain Price: $7.69
Or FREE with unlimited
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
A Silent Stabbing (A Lady and Lady's Maid Mystery Book 5)
A Silent Stabbing (A Lady and Lady's Maid Mystery Book 5)
by Alyssa Maxwell
As England recovers from its costly involvement in the Great War, Lady Phoebe Renshaw and her lady’s maid, Eva Huntford, find the steady comforts of their lives unsettled by a local case of murder . . . Eva is excited for a visit from her sister Alice, who lives in Suffolk with her husband and three children. But when Alice arrives...
Today's Bargain Price: $12.99
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Murder at Kingscote (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 8)
Murder at Kingscote (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 8)
by Alyssa Maxwell
In late nineteenth-century Newport, Rhode Island, journalist Emma Cross discovers the newest form of transportation has become the newest type of murder weapon . . .  On a clear July day in 1899, the salty ocean breeze along Bellevue Avenue carries new smells of gasoline and exhaust as Emma, now editor-in-chief of the Newport Messenger...
Today's Bargain Price: $6.92
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
A Sinister Service (A Lady and Lady's Maid Mystery Book 6)
A Sinister Service (A Lady and Lady's Maid Mystery Book 6)
by Alyssa Maxwell
A trip to Staffordshire for Lady Phoebe Renshaw and her lady’s maid, Eva Huntford, leads to murder in a famed pottery works . . .  Following the devastation of the Great War, England's noble class takes comfort in honoring tradition. To celebrate their grandparents' wedding anniversary, Lady Phoebe Renshaw and her siblings travel to...
Today's Bargain Price: $11.68
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Murder at Wakehurst (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 9)
Murder at Wakehurst (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 9)
by Alyssa Maxwell
In the autumnal chill of Newport, Rhode Island, at the close of the nineteenth century, journalist Emma Cross discovers an instance of cold-blooded murder on the grounds of a mansion . . .  Following the death of her uncle, Cornelius Vanderbilt, in September 1899, a somber Emma is in no mood for one of Newport’s extravagant parties. But...
Today's Bargain Price: $12.99
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Murder at Beechwood (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 3)
Murder at Beechwood (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 3)
by Alyssa Maxwell
An abandoned baby and a drowned robber baron have a lady reporter playing sleuth in this Gilded Age mystery set among New England’s high society.   Having turned down the proposal of Derrick Andrews, Emma Cross has no imminent plans for matrimony—let alone motherhood. But when she discovers an infant left on her doorstep, she naturally...
Today's Bargain Price: $8.99
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Murder Most Malicious (A Lady and Lady's Maid Mystery Book 1)
Murder Most Malicious (A Lady and Lady's Maid Mystery Book 1)
by Alyssa Maxwell
In post–World War I England, Lady Phoebe Renshaw and her lady’s maid, Eva Huntford, step outside of their social roles and put their lives at risk to apprehend a vicious killer…   December 1918: As a difficult year draws to a close, there is much to celebrate for nineteen-year-old Phoebe Renshaw and her three siblings at their beloved...
Today's Bargain Price: $9.99
Or FREE with unlimited
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers; All Sex & Erotica
Murder at Chateau sur Mer (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 5)
Murder at Chateau sur Mer (A Gilded Newport Mystery Book 5)
by Alyssa Maxwell
A polo match turns perilous: “Fans of Victoria Thompson or Deanna Raybourn are sure to enjoy dipping into this historical series.”—Library JournalLate nineteenth-century Newport, Rhode Island, is home to some of America’s wealthiest citizens. For society reporter Emma Cross, a less well-heeled cousin to the illustrious Vanderbilts...
Today's Bargain Price: $1.99
Supports BookGorilla with Commissions Earned
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers
Join our thousands of happy subscribers. It's free!
Get Deep Discounts on
Premium Bestsellers,
Plus Free Books for
Your Kindle!
Enter Your Email Address:
BookGorilla sends you a single daily email alert with the best deals
on books that match your reading preferences, including bestsellers
and freebies! Learn More

All prices are for US customers of the Amazon.com Kindle store and were verified by BookGorilla at 9 am EDT, but prices may change without notice so please verify that the book is still free or bargain priced before confirming your order.